5 Key Learnings from My Journey as a Software Engineering Manager

Atindra Ghosh
3 min readAug 17, 2023

Stepping into the role of a software engineering manager, I quickly realized that while my technical acumen was essential, the new position demanded a paradigm shift in my approach to work, people, and challenges. Here are five key learnings from my journey:

Technical Skills are Just the Starting Point:

  • When I first transitioned from an individual contributor to a managerial role, I believed that my deep technical know-how would be the primary driver of my team’s success. However, I soon learned that while technical understanding is fundamental, it’s only a part of the equation.
  • The role demanded a broader understanding of product strategy, business goals, and operational nuances. Beyond code, I needed to be comfortable with budgeting, resource allocation, and long-term planning. The lesson? As managers, our horizons should extend far beyond the codebase.

Building Strong Relationships is Paramount:

  • People aren’t just resources; they’re the lifeblood of any software project. The depth and quality of my relationships with team members directly influenced their performance, morale, and dedication.
  • By investing time in understanding their aspirations, challenges, and concerns, I could better tailor my leadership style to each individual. I learned that when team members feel genuinely understood and supported, they not…

--

--

Atindra Ghosh

I am a Technology Leader with a wide range of interests