Unlocking Your Potential as a Leader: Part 2— Power of Language in Communication

Atindra Ghosh
6 min readApr 10, 2023

A guide for budding or newly promoted managers, focusing on how proper communication and using the power of language can help one demonstrate leadership skills and achieve recognition from senior management.

As a former software developer who has now grown into a management role, I have learned some valuable lessons that I believe can be helpful for those who are in a similar situation or aspire to grow into a management role. In this article series, I will share the key factors that helped me stand out in front of senior management, including taking ownership of problems, the power of language, prioritization of efforts and others. Part 2 will specifically focus on how to communicate properly and use the power of language to make your arguments stand in front of other teams. By sharing my experiences and key learning, I hope to inspire and guide others on a similar journey towards success.

……..

Never shy away from issues

As the lead software developer in my team, I was constantly bombarded with challenges related to different areas like infrastructure issues, release management problems, testing issues and so on. My team and I were often blamed for the under-performance of our software application when there were many issues also arising from other teams. I agree there were issues that needed to be resolved from our side but we did take some proactive measures. But there were issues that were…

--

--

Atindra Ghosh

I am a Technology Leader with a wide range of interests